Sync GUI data recovery

The SyncEvolution GUI can help you recover from problems during synchronization. There are several different methods for recovery:

Slow sync
A slow sync compares each item being synchronized, and tries to merge them. It can take a long time and may lead to duplicates and data loss, so is only recommended as a last resort.
Start from scratch
This erases either your local data or the data held with the synchronization provider, so that you can restart synchronization without having to use a ‘Slow sync’.
Restore from backup
The simplest solution to recover from a sync emergency is to restore from a backup. This restores your local synchronization data to a known state, so that you can retry the sync operation.

Selecting the affected synchronization data

  1. Start the ‘Sync’ application from the ‘Applications’ panel.
  2. From the actions buttons on the right, click the ‘Fix a sync emergency’ button.
  3. You will be presented with several options for recovering from the synchronization problem: Slow sync, start from scratch and restore from backup, as described above.
  4. Select the ‘Affected data: …’expander at the top of the screen.
  5. You will be presented with a table of synchronization providers, together with the synchronization data available from each provider. If there is no data available for a particular type (for example, ‘Notes’, ‘Tasks’, ‘Appointments’ or ‘Contacts’) then the data type will be grayed out. You can control which data will be affected by the synchronization emergency by toggling the switches beside each data type.
  6. Continue the process by choosing a set of synchronization emergency instructions below.

Starting recovery from a backup

To start recovery from a backup, using MeeGo 1.2:

  1. Start a synchronization emergency, as described in the ‘Selecting the affected synchronization data’ section.
  2. You will be presented with several options for recovering from the synchronization problem: Slow sync, start from scratch and restore from backup, as described above.
    There is a list of backups in the lower box, with a description of when the backup was made and the exact time. Click the ‘Restore’ button next to the backup that you wish to restore.
  3. You will be asked to confirm whether you want to restore the backup, losing all changes since the backup was made, or cancel. Click the ‘Yes, restore’ button if you wish to continue.
  4. The backup will be restored and you will be returned to the main ‘Sync’ screen, with a report of the backup process. You can start a sync directly to ensure that you have an up-to-date synchronization.

Starting from scratch

  1. Start a synchronization emergency, as described in the ‘Selecting the affected synchronization data’ section.
  2. You will be presented with several options for recovering from the synchronization problem: Slow sync, start from scratch and restore from backup, as described above.
    There are two buttons in the middle of the screen, one for deleting your local synchronization data, and the other for deleting your synchronization data held by your synchronization provider. Click the ‘Delete all your local data and replace with data from…’ button to delete your local data, or the ‘Delete all data on … and replace with your local data’ to delete your synchronization provider's data.
  3. You will be asked to confirm whether you want to delete the synchronization data and sync again, or cancel. Click the ‘Yes, delete and replace’ button if you wish to continue.
  4. The synchronization data will be deleted, and the sync process will automatically start. Once it is complete you will be presented with the results.

Slow sync

  1. Start a synchronization emergency, as described in the ‘Selecting the affected synchronization data’ section.
  2. You will be presented with several options for recovering from the synchronization problem: Slow sync, start from scratch and restore from backup, as described above.
    There is a button at the top of the screen for starting a slow sync. Click the ‘Slow sync’ button to start the procedure.
  3. You will be asked for confirmation of whether you want to proceed with the slow sync, or cancel. Click the ‘Yes, do slow sync’ button if you wish to continue.
  4. The slow sync will begin, and once it is complete you will be presented with the results.